Lesko, Jordan Introduce Bill to Hold Rioters Accountable

Washington, September 17, 2020 | Rachel Harris (202-417-0746)

WASHINGTON, D.C.—Today, U.S. Congresswoman Debbie Lesko (AZ-08) and Ranking Member of the House Committee on the Judiciary, Jim Jordan (R-OH-04), introduced the Holding Rioters Accountable Act of 2020 to hold the rioters responsible for destruction across our nation accountable for their actions and ensure local officials do not turn a blind eye to the chaos in our cities.

“We have laws in our country for a reason and if cities and states choose not to uphold them, they should not be rewarded with money from federal grants,” said Congresswoman Lesko following the introduction of the bill. “I hope this bill will incentivize cities and states to follow the law and hold rioters accountable. There is no place in our nation for this lawlessness.”

The bill grants the attorney general the authority to withhold up to 10 percent of Department of Justice (DOJ) grants from cities and states where prosecutors are failing to prosecute crimes arising from riots and other violent protests. The DOJ is responsible for determining prosecutorial misconduct for the purposes of implementing this legislation.

“Chaos and violence have no place in American cities,” said Ranking Member Jordan. “It’s time for Democrats to denounce violent left-wing extremism, reject efforts to defund the police, and hold anarchists and criminals accountable for their lawlessness.”

Lesko and Jordan are joined by Ted Budd (NC-13), Michael Burgess (TX-26), Doug Collins (GA-09), Jeff Duncan (SC-03), Matt Gaetz (FL-01), Bob Gibbs (OH-07), Paul Gosar (AZ-04), Michael Guest (MS-03), Jody Hice (GA-10), Fred Keller (PA-12), Guy Reschenthaler (PA-14), Greg Steube (FL-17), Tom Tiffany (WI-07), Randy Weber (TX-14), and Ted Yoho (FL-03) in the introduction of this legislation.


Stay Connected

Use the form below to sign up for my newsletter and get the latest news and updates directly to your inbox.

Office Locations