Lesko Leads Letter on Energy Security to Department of Energy Secretary Granholm

Washington, April 23, 2021 | Rachel Harris (202-417-0746)

WASHINGTON, D.C.—Today, U.S. Congresswoman Debbie Lesko (AZ-08) led a letter to Department of Energy Secretary Jennifer Granholm requesting that the department prioritize critical minerals programs in the Department’s FY 2022 Budget Request to ensure our nation’s energy security. Lesko was joined by House Energy and Commerce Committee Ranking Member Cathy McMorris Rodgers (R-WA-05) and other members of the committee.

“Securing our domestic supply of critical minerals and materials is essential for our energy independence and national security,” said Congresswoman Lesko. “We must address our growing reliance on foreign nations, including adversaries like China, for materials used in our energy and transportation infrastructure. My colleagues and I urge the Biden Administration to prioritize funding the newly authorized programs that strengthen these domestic supply chains to protect our energy and national security.”

Lesko was joined by Representatives Kelly Armstrong (R-ND-AL), Larry Bucshon (R-IN-08), Michael Burgess (R-TX-26), John Curtis (R-UT-03), Jeff Duncan (R-SC-03), Neal Dunn (R-FL-02), Morgan Griffith (R-VA-09), Brett Guthrie (R-KY-02), Richard Hudson (R-NC-08), Bill Johnson (R-OH-06), John Joyce (R-PA-13), Robert Latta (R-OH-05), David McKinley (R-WV-01), Markwayne Mullin (R-OK-02), Gary Palmer (R-Al-06), Greg Pence (R-IN-06), Cathy McMorris Rodgers (R-WA-05), and Tim Walberg (R-MI-07) in sending this letter.

Read the full letter here.


Stay Connected

Use the form below to sign up for my newsletter and get the latest news and updates directly to your inbox.

Office Locations